Alcohol

13 Mar

guinness.jpg

As I stood in line tonight wearing my st. patricks day shirt holding a grapejuice bottle I was buying for my dad, a customer behind me said that I didn’t look like I should be holding grapejuice but a guiness. I told him that I try to hold off boozing until the weekend. We both laughed. Where does the Christian faith stand on drinking? I’ve heard some incredibly goofy, constricting, and angry things when it comes to alcohol.
Check out this link for an even handed brief look at the use of alcohol in the scriptures.

6 Responses to “Alcohol”

  1. Sarah Gohl March 14, 2007 at 5:30 am #

    Well, like a vast amount of things, it all comes down to moderation. Most things in the excess are not beneficial (ranging from drinking, to helping others). I think that the church has made drinking an issue, mostly due to the fact that many in the church struggle with alcoholism.
    I believe while the church is trying to be “sensitive” to those who may have a problem with over-indulgence, that sensitivity has escalated into the perception that drinking is wrong. Also, the typical drinking scene has always been frowned upon by the church. Not without some good reason. Bars don’t seem very Christian friendly.
    However, I believe the claim that consuming alcohol should be forbidden as a little much. I’ve drank plenty of times and have never been drunk or have sinned as a result of my drinking. While I think you should examine your reasons for drinking and stay away from alcohol at emotionally charged times (when you’re probably most likely to over-indulge) drinking is permissible!

  2. Rob March 14, 2007 at 5:42 am #

    So Sarah, I have to ask, will their be alcohol at your wedding? Nothing helps me to dance like a drink. And am I still invited, I haven’t got my invite yet in the mail. No pressure if there are seat limitations. It was good seeing you and Matt the other day.

    I found a lot of awesome places in Sacramento to have a drink. In fact the church I went to (floodsacramento.com) had a happy hour at one point. A place to definitely check out is Streets of London.

  3. Jamie Petersen March 14, 2007 at 4:10 pm #

    Rob…what is “Streets of London?”

  4. Sarah Gohl March 14, 2007 at 9:35 pm #

    Yes, we will be having alcohol! Our reception is just going to be a big party. I’ve always hated really uptight gatherings. Yes, you are still invited. The invites are going out this week, you’ll get yours soon. Church happy hour would rock 🙂 I like Modesto Sports Bar, The Copper Rhino and The Fat Cat all in Modesto. Haven’t really found a great place locally. I’m spoiled though, my job gave me a chance to scope out the hot spots!

  5. Rob March 15, 2007 at 12:23 am #

    Jamie (formerly known as Jaime), Streets of London is a pub in Sacramento. Its location is somewhere around 21st and M, I think. I recommend their shepherds pie and any sort of Heiffenweisen.

    Sarah, sounds great, I’m saving the date.

  6. Sarah Gohl March 15, 2007 at 3:36 am #

    Is Hefeweizen dark beer? I think I’ve had it. It’s the kind where they don’t filter out the yeast…right? I’ll only drink dark beers and an occasional corona with lime. Other then that, it’s all about madori 🙂 I’ve heard of Streets Of London, I’ll have to drag Matt down to try it out!

Leave a Reply

