The gods aren’t angry tour

17 Nov

the-gods-arent-angry-rob-bell.jpg

A few of us went to the gods aren’t angry tour on Monday in San Francisco. And due to the help of some good friends I was able to score a ticket on site. The tagline for the event was:

“Part anthropology, part history, part deconstruction – this is new material that Rob hasn’t taught before, exploring how humans invented religion to make themselves feel better.”

I would love to post some notes on what I heard but like the last three times I have heard him speak after a few minutes I put down my pen and paper and just listen. So I ripped of some notes from here and here. If you want to get a low quality mp3 recording check out this link. Even though it is fuzzy it is still worth the listen.

Oh, and while we were there we met some really cool Christians with bullhorns, signs and specially created sweaters.
the-gods-arent-angry.jpg
As you can see from this picture they really engaged their audience.

I routinely find that Rob Bell has excellent things to say and I could go on and on about the life he is breathing into the church. While I won’t listen to people with bullhorns and signs condemning people, there are people that call out Rob Bell on issues in a concerned way and anyone no matter how good of a communicator they are should be willing to have their teaching questioned and examined. I find that people who I do respect that question some of his theological points are also some of his greatest supporters. It was Leonard Sweet who said 80% of my theology is right and 20% is wrong. The only problem, he said, was that he didn’t know which was the 20%. So when Rob Bell speaks I listen but I still question.

And I don’t think Rob would mind that.

Maverick Minister Dissects Religion (Chicago Sun-Times)
Pastor Who Says It’s OK for Christianity to Be Messy on Tour
(The Dallas Morning News)
Velvet Elvis Author Plans Stop in Portland (The Oregonian)

6 Responses to “The gods aren’t angry tour”

  1. Terri November 18, 2007 at 4:20 pm #

    I read your blog…can you believe it? Thank you for sharing your heart and wisdom!! Thanks for the talk at Chipotle, God continues to speak through in all facets of life. I will say it again…I love that I get to be your friend. I hope studying went well and you were productive!! I like to shout in this email a lot with all of the exclamation points!!!!

  2. Brian December 17, 2007 at 9:33 pm #

    I tried getting the mp3 of “The gods aren’t angry” tour, but the hyperlink doesn’t work. I was wondering if there is another way to get ahold of at least an audio of the tour? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.
    Brian

  3. Rob December 18, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    Hey Brian,
    Just email me (robgmerrill@gmail.com) with email address and I’ll email you the file!
    Peace,
    Rob

  4. Danny(boy) January 31, 2008 at 10:34 am #

    Hey man! I appreciate your comments about Rob Bell and his latest tour. I tried to go but found out too late! Anyways, I was wondering if you could e-mail me the file/mp3 of Rob’s the gods aren’t angry tour. That would be awesome. Much appreciation! again my e-mail is mattmageefanclub@hotmail.com. Thanks!

    Danny

  5. Rob January 31, 2008 at 12:55 pm #

    No problem.

  6. Crystal July 5, 2008 at 4:17 pm #

    could you email me the mp3 as well? thanks so much!

    crystaldanae@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

