Lots-O-Links

10 Jan

What is a covenant?

We’re in, your out mentality


A voters guide for thinking evangelicals
-a little outdated but worth looking at.


No minister of the gospel should have a $23,000 toilet

Thinking about Hell

2 Responses to “Lots-O-Links”

  1. Kristin August 14, 2008 at 9:51 pm #

    I had heard about Joyce Meyer and her financial spending. I think it is really sad. Personally I love Joyce and watch her sermons daily. I get so much out of what God puts in her heart. When her show is over, I feel like there is hope to change and not stay where I am at. I don’t get that much from “church”

    I wish her stories in the media were more about what God is doing through her ministry and less about her expensive crapper. My mom was struggling in her marriage and called Joyce Meyer Ministries to ask for prayer… Guess what, they sent her some books and CD’s about struggles, hope and trust in God, all free and by surprise! My mom was so excited and felt like it was truly a gift from God. So, who cares if she has an expensive toilet. Her rear is worth it 🙂

  2. Rob August 15, 2008 at 1:38 pm #

    Hey Kristen:)! Great to have you on the blog. I very much appreciate the story of how Joyce Meyers been a blessing to you and your mother. I know a lot of people who have been blessed by her ministry. My struggle is that I feel a disconnect in how the church in general handles money to the neglect of those in need, “Jesus in his most distressing disguises”.

    Paul wrote to the Corinthians and said, “Christ died to make you rich”…his plea was not that they would understand God wants them to be rich financially because Christ died for them, but the context was him urging them to give. Just as Christ was rich and gave himself away for our greatest need (dealing with sin) so they had an opportunity to give something (their finances) so that people who have a need (famine in Jerusalem) may eat.

    The incarnation is something that I’m trying to integrate into every area of my life (pouring out my life for others as Christ did for me) and its hard. It forces me to ask how were the people treated who made my clothes, who picked the beans for my coffee and who picked the food from the fields that I am eating. I am to love my neighbor in everything I purchase and sometimes that means not purchasing something so I can give that money to someone in need (I prefer to do this through Kiva.org and Rosaloves.com). A helpful book in this process has been Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne.

    Guigo the First, said, “Desiring exquisite goods and clothing is like painting firewood. These things are consumables. Clothes keep you warm regardless of their color. Common foods will satisfy your hunger.”

    If by me sitting on a plain toilet instead of an expensive one means that one of 30,000 people won’t die of malnutrition then I think the gospel (good news) means I sit on a normal toilet. We live on an extremely Flat World in which the church could end so much pain but instead we settle for nice stuff and big buildings. I just wish the church would stop painting firewood.

    I very much hope that God continues to use Joyce Meyers to be a blessing and to speak into the lives of others. But I still don’t believe that anyone should have a fancy toilet while 20-40% of the world lacks basic sanitation.

    Anyways, I recently heard that while it was describe as an expensive toilet it was instead some sort of furniture set. Kind of changes things…but that’s my thought on the expensive toilet. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

