I’m Moving…

11 Mar

I finally did it. I got an apartment on my own! What next a house? I feel very grown up. Sarcasm aside this has been a move I have been looking to make for the past two years since I read the book Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne. It seems as if everything I have been reading over the past three or four years has been pointing me to the understanding that God loves the outcast and the oppressed. The scriptures go so far as to say that the “poor” report to God on our behalf to let him know how we are doing (as if He doesn’t know). I have become a victim of my own theology as I can no longer talk about something that I am not actively participating in myself.

I heard recently that per capita Stockton has one of the worst crime rates in the state and nation. There are a lot of reasons that I don’t want to live in Stockton (heat, minor league sports) but one of the worst crime rates in the state and nation is a reason that I would never want to leave. That is exactly where the church should be. Over the past month I have found myself driving in the downtown Stockton area praying and dreaming of what could be.

The neighborhood I am moving into is full of bars on the windows. It is a place in which safety has been trespassed. It has been a place of unhealthy touch and toxic addictions. But what would it look like to move into an area like this and reclaim it. What if a park became a place where people played soccer and had BBQ’s instead of gang fights and drug deals. What if broken down lots were reclaimed and turned into gardens. I have found myself dreaming a lot lately…

Pictures to come…
Tomorrow I go on a prayer jog. Perhaps as I gain more courage it will turn into a prayer walk.

4 Responses to “I’m Moving…”

  1. D.O. March 12, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    haha… man, you sport that prayer jog, and yeah, tomorrow, you walk. Or maybe run as far as you can before getting tired, then prayer walk back.

    Anyway, I’m an intern with Another World is Possible here in Philly, and I wanted to let you know about us if you haven’t heard already. Here’s my canned little spiel. Enjoy…

    Hey if you’re a fan of Shane Claiborne and his book, then you should really check out the Another World is Possible DVD series. It’s a multimedia project by Shane Claiborne and Jamie Moffett (co-founders of the Simple Way) that emerged in response to their belief that things are not right in the world, and that they don’t have to stay that way. There are three DVD’s, one on war, one on poverty, and one on creation. You can find out more about them at http://www.awip.us.

  2. Leanne March 17, 2008 at 12:24 am #

    Hey Rob, you moved out by yourself, no roommate? How’s it going so far? Very brave of you in regards to location as well!

  3. Rob March 17, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Yup, no roommate. Just me and my books and laptop. I should get a lot of studying in. Stan is actually letting me borrow his TV and DVD player so I can watch movies at least. I’ll let you know when the housewarming party happens.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thoughts on home… « Midrash - March 30, 2008

    […] I’m Moving […]

Leave a Reply

