Dobson on Obama

25 Jun

Recently James Dobson gave a critique of Barak Obama’s speech. Anyone hear about it?

Some others have weighed in on how fairly they thought Dobson interpreted what Obama was saying.
Here is a link to Dobson’s words. This will also lead you to the Obama speech that gave in 2006.

Scot McKnight weighs in here.
Jim Wallis weighs in here.
CNN weights in here.
John Stewart weighs in

I want to also add that I love a lot of what Focus on the Family tries to do…sometimes I think they miss it though. Like Sadducees, Pharisees, Essenes and Zealots in the world of Jesus that all had their perspective of the kingdom only to have it turned upside down by Jesus. I think F.O.F. would do well, as all of us would, to routinely evaluate how Jesus needs to re-turn our lives upside down and not get stuck in a rut.

P.S. I love how Obama in discussing which part of the Bible’s teaching we take as authoritative mentions Jesus sermon on the Mount. He said that it is “a passage that is so radical that it’s doubtful that our Defense Department would survive its application.” The Focus on the Family moderator said that Obama was dragging theology through the gutter by making this statement among others. Wow, really?

While I was perusing the net on this topic I found someone with this picture. Again, while I love many things that they do, I agree that James Dobson doesn’t speak for me.

If I have some time I’ll go back and give my thoughts on Dobson’s interpretation. As I’m listening to it right now I have a hard time hearing some of the ways that Obama’s speech is misconstrued. I think that there are other issues at stake. Such as Church and State, interpretation of the Constitution, and view of war that are very infused into Dobson’s view of Christianity that contrasts with Obama’s view that make them such polar opposites.

P.P.S. I don’t get too fired up about politics or how people vote. I believe that our vote means next to nothing compared to how we live. Like Jim Wallis says, “Politicians are people with wet fingers in the air to find out where the wind is blowing. Don’t focus on changing the finger, change the wind.” I believe in power under rather than power over. I think that we best transform people by serving and loving rather than transform by forcing certain behaviors. But it is easier to vote for what you want your neighbor to do than it is to love and serve your neighbor.

Leave a Reply

