What’s Your Style of Worship?

28 Jul

The music begins to play…the light darkens…your heart “has been prepared” during a 30-40 minute talk/discussion/sermon…and you decide to physically respond in some way because sitting still at this point just doesn’t seem natural…so here are your choices:

1. The Ninja
2. The Half & Half
3. The Single Hand Salute
4. The Elevator
5. The Pound Cake
6. The Tickler
7. The Double High Five
8. The Huge Watermelon
9. The Helicopter Rail
10. The YMCA

Check out Stuff Christians Like for an elaboration on these styles.

4 Responses to “What’s Your Style of Worship?”

  1. Jamie Stavenger July 29, 2008 at 12:40 pm #

    You have an award waiting for you at my blog, Mr. Merrill. Come on by for a visit!

  2. Sarah Sciarini July 29, 2008 at 2:08 pm #

    Oh, I have issues with Spanish too. I once asked a child to come to the park ministry in Mexico and play with “carnitas” (pieces of roasted pork) instead of “canicas” (Marbles). I get an A for effort though. 🙂

    I’m not presently working with Jr. High, but you want to talk to Tim Nielsen, he’s the Jr. High pastor. You could even talk to Glen, his son Andrew is in Jr. high this year. Then he could at least have a friend to hang out with there. They have tournament series coming up, which is a good time to get plugged in!

  3. Jim July 31, 2008 at 12:53 am #

    um, Rob, I’m not too sure this was funny….mocking/making fun of/riducule/assumptions about the intentions of how/why people worship the Almighty probably isn’t something to joke about….I don’t think this is part of “in His steps, what would Jesus do” part of the Christian life. Worship is a very private thing that goes on between the believer and his Savior. Is nothing sacred? Or is all of what we do in “church” up for grabs when comedy is involved? How about communion? What’s the difference?
    Sorry, bro, but this just isn’t right….

  4. Rob July 31, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    Jim,

    I certainly didn’t mean to mock people responding to God. Stuff Christians Like is a website that brings up stuff that happens when Christians gather and is meant to be lighthearted and give us an opportunity to laugh with each other. Much as a family does around the dinner table as they tell stories and laugh looking back on things.

    I found myself matching several of these styles (maybe I should have listed those so it didn’t look like I was poking fun at people worshiping God) and it gave me a chuckle because I could see myself doing these things. I didn’t post this to mock myself or anyone else. So no, I don’t believe everything is up for grabs when it comes to comedy. I just thought I might have a laugh with some friends. I’ll think about your words in future posts as I make observations about the Christian life…

Leave a Reply

