I’m back…

17 Jun

Wow, I know I said I was going to take a month off of blogging for a project I was working on. Apparently, that project was a church plant (Ecclesia Stockton). And based on the fact that I took 5 months off instead of 1 you can imagine that it is a bigger task than I imagined. I am surrounded by a great launch team and for the past couple weeks I have felt just a great relief as people have taken responsibility upon responsibility on themselves.

This has freed me up to return to the blog. For me this blog has been a place where I can process some stuff. Things I’m working through and things I’m trying to figure out. I’m going to spend this month and however many more months it takes to process my thoughts on the book of Philippians (what I am teaching through with Ecclesia) and another book called Leading with a Limp by Dan Allendar. The book by Allendar is timely for me and anyone that finds themselves in a position where they are leading. I love his brute honestly as he shares that if you are in leadership people will hate you and you just have to comes to terms with it. He points out the fallacy in saying that you just need to “have thick skin and a soft heart” by responding “right, and leprechauns are standing by to hand out winning lottery ticket numbers upon request.”

But what I really hope to glean from his book is what he says about our weaknesses. Often times I am told that leaders need to focus on what they are good at and not focus on their weaknesses. I agree with that, but it doesn’t really help me at all with my weaknesses. Allendar contends, yes, lead from your strengths but your weaknesses and how you respond to them will be the defining key in the kind of leader and influence that you have on others.

Can’t wait to start writing about it.

Peace,
rM

Leave a comment