Currently Reading…Culture Making by Andy Crouch

14 Jul

Just picked up a book 2 weeks ago called culture making. Anytime Tim Keller endorses a book saying, “I highly recommend it” it’s probably worth checking out. The author, Andy Crouch is a name I’ve heard several times in different circles but never read him or heard him speak until I saw a couple 18 minute sessions of him teaching at a conference called Q. He struck me as very original and well thought and not just regurgitating common understood assumptions. Check out his Q talks here, here and here.

You can also check out his book here at Amazon. It has a depth and isn’t a light read so it’s quite the commitment but sometimes it is good to read hard things.

4 Responses to “Currently Reading…Culture Making by Andy Crouch”

  1. scottemery July 15, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    I read this awhile ago and it is definitely worth the time and effort. Interestingly enough, he gets a bunch of his stuff from one of my profs, Richard Middleton. So if you’ve ever read of any his stuff, mainly on biblical theology, you’ll find Crouch familiar. His chps on “Power” and “Cultivation and Creation” are great. “To Change the World” by James Davison Hunter is supposed to the newest book on culture that is causing an uproar. Apparently, he challenges Crouch’s ideas in his book. Interesting stuff.

  2. admin July 29, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I’ve heard a bunch about Hunter’s book. I might have to check it out! I’ve also heard of Middleton before. Not familiar with his work but have heard his name somewhere. Any of his books worth checking out?

  3. scottemery July 29, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Check out Middleton’s doctoral dissertation, The Liberating Image: The Imago Dei in Genesis 1, The Transforming Vision, and Truth is Stranger Than it Used to Be. They are all good stuff. Enjoy them my friend.

  4. admin August 1, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    That’s how I know his name…I own “The Liberating Image”. I got it a few years ago. For some reason I never got into it. I’ll have to give it a second shot!

Leave a Reply

